This is an archived copy of the 2016-2017 catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit


Youngstown State University Catalog
Graduate Edition

Effective August 2016
Youngstown, Ohio

Youngstown State University reserves the right to change without notice any statement in this catalog concerning, but not limited to, rules, policies, tuition, fees, curricula, and courses.

Youngstown State University is committed to a campus environment that values all individu­als and groups, and to nondiscrimination and equal opportunity for all persons.  Youngstown State does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex sexual orientation, gender identity and/or expression, disability, age, religion or veteran/military status. Please visit for contact information for persons designated to handle questions about this policy.

Inquiries regarding discrimination or harassment should be addressed to Youngstown State University’s director of Equal Opportu­nity and Policy Compliance at (330) 941-2340.

Youngstown State University
Graduate Catalog

Volume 84
Issue 1 (2016–2017)


College of Graduate Studies
Youngstown State University
One University Plaza
Youngstown, OH 44555

Ohio Department of Higher Education

Vinod K. Gupta, Chair
Thomas Humphries, Vice Chair
Virginia M. Lindseth, Secretary
Kurt Kaufman
Elizabeth Kessler
Sen. Peggy Lehner (ex officio)
Rep. Bill Hayes(ex officio)
Chancellor John Carey (ex officio)

Youngstown State University Board of Trustees

Charles R. Bush

Delores E. Crawford
David C. Deibel
Sudershan Garg
Samuel W. Grooms
James “Ted” Roberts
John R. Jakubek
Carole S. Weimer, Chairperson
Leonard D. Schiavone, Vice Chairperson

Franklin S. Bennett, Jr., Secretary
Student Trustee, Samantha Anderson

Student Trustee, Allen Metz

Executive Officers

James Tressel, M.A., President
Martin Abraham, Ph.D., Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Neal McNally, M.P.A., Vice President for Finance and Business Operations
Holly A. Jacobs, J.D., Vice President for Legal Affairs and Human Resources

College of Graduate Studies

Coffelt Hall
Telephone: (330) 941-3091
Fax: (330) 941-1580
Salvatore Sanders, Ph.D., Dean, College of Graduate Studies

Undergraduate Academic Administration

Wim F.A. Steelant, Ph.D., Dean, College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
Phyllis Paul, Ph.D., Dean, College of Creative Arts and Communication
Kristine Blair, Ph.D., Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
Charles L. Howell, Ph.D., Dean, Beeghly College of Education
Betty Jo Licata, Ph.D., Dean, Williamson College of Business Administration
Joseph L. Mosca, Ph.D., Dean, Bitonte College of Health and Human Services