This is an archived copy of the 2017-2018 catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit

Ohio Department of Higher Education

The Ohio Department of Higher Education is a Cabinet-level agency for the Governor of the State of Ohio that oversees higher education for the state.

The Ohio Board of Regents, a nine-member advisory board to the chancellor with two ex-officio representatives from the state legislature, was created in 1963 by the General Assembly. Members of the Board of Regents are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate.

Responsibilities of the board include developing an independent annual report on the Condition of Higher Education in the state of Ohio and issuing an annual performance review of the chancellor. The board is also responsible for advising the chancellor on issues of statewide importance affecting higher education.

Member   Term Expires
Chancellor John Carey (ex-officio)
Thomas Humphries, Vice Chair
Kurt Kaufman
Sen. Peggy Lehner (ex-officio)
Rep. Andrew Brenner (ex-officio)

University  Administration

University Board of Trustees

University Board of Trustees Term Expires
Leonard D. Schiavone, Chair2018
Delores E. Crawford, Vice Chair2019
David C. Deibel2020
Anita A. Hackstedde2021
James E. "Ted" Roberts2022
John R. Jakubek2023
Samuel W. Grooms2025
Allan Metz, Student Trustee2018
Franklin S. Bennett Jr., SecretaryNot a Trustee

Executive Level

Executive Level Position
James P. Tressel, MA President
Martin A. Abraham, PhDProvost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Holly A. Jacobs, JDVice President and General Counsel
Neal P. McNally, MPAVice President for Finance and Business Operations

Division of Academic Affairs

Division of Academic Affairs Position
Kevin E. Ball, PhDAssociate Provost, Academic Programs and Planning
Jennifer Pintar, PhDAssociate Provost, Academic Administration
Nathan P. Myers, PhDAssociate Provost, International Programs
Kristine L. Blair, PhDDean, CLASS, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Charles L. Howell, PhDDean, BCOE, Beeghly College of Education
Betty Jo Licata, PhDDean, WCBA, Williamson College of Business Administration
Joseph L. Mosca, PhDDean, BCHHS, Bitonte College of Health and Human Services
Phyllis M. Paul, PhDDean, CA&C, College of Creative Arts and Communication
Sal A. Sanders, PhDDean, College of Graduate Studies
Wim F. Steelant, PhDDean, STEM, College of Science Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
Amy Cossentino, PhDDirector, Honors College
Michael Hripko, MBAAssociate Vice President for Research
Ana M. Torres, BBAInterim Director, Maag Library

Division of Enrollment Planning and Management

Division of Enrollment Planning and Management Position
Gary D. Swegan, MAAssociate Vice President for Enrollment Planning and Management
Susan E. DavisDirector, Admissions
Elaine RuseDirector, Financial Aid and Scholarships
Jeanne M. Herman, BSBAUniversity Registar
Rick WilliamsCoordinator, Office of Veterans Affairs

Division of Finance and Administration

Division of Finance and Administration Position
Neal P. McNally, MPAVice President for Finance and Business Operations
Katrena S. Davidson, CPA, MBAController
John P. Hyden, BCTExecutive Director, University Facilities
Gloria J. KobusBursar
Marilyn K. WardBudget Officer, Academic Affairs
James A. YukechAssociate Vice President for Technology and Chief Information Officer

Division of Legal Affairs and Human Resources

Division of Legal Affairs and Human Resources Position
Holly A Jacobs, JDVice President and General Counsel
Gregory Morgione, JDAssociate General Counsel
Cynthia Kravitz, JDAssociate General Counsel, Equal Opportunity and Policy Compliance
Kevin W. ReynoldsChief Human Resources Officer
Ronald A. StrolloExecutive Director, Athletics

Division of Multicultural Affairs

Division of Multicultural Affairs Position
Sylvia J. Imler, PhDAssociate Vice President for Multicultural Affairs

Division of Student Experience

Division of Student Experience Position
Eddie J. Howard Jr., MAAssociate Vice President for Student Experience
Joy L. Polkabla-ByersDirector, Campus Recreation & Andrews Recreation & Wellness Center
Kate FitzgeraldDirector, Housing & Residence Life & Program Coordinator, Title IX
John L. YoungDirector, Kilcawley Center
Erin E. DriscollDirector, Student Activities and Greek Life
William J. BlakeDirector, Student Diversity Programs

Division of Student Success

Division of Student Success Position
Claire Berardini, PhDAssociate Provost, Student Success
Amy GordonDirector, Comprehensive Testing Center
Christina HardyDirector, Career and Academic Planning
Ann Jaronski, PhDDirector, Student Counseling Center
Nicole Kent-StrolloDirector, Student Outreach and Support
Leslie PageDirector, First Year Student Services
Becky L. VarianDirector, Center for Student Progress
William BorderCoordinator, Academic Achievers

Division of University Relations

Division of University Relations Position
Shannon Tirone, ABAssociate Vice President for University Relations
Catherine A. CalaDirector, Alumni Engagement
Ronald A. ColeDirector, University Communications
Jacquelyn M. LeViseurDirector, University Events
Ross L. MorroneDirector, University Marketing
Gary A. Sexton, MMDirector, WYSU-FM
Shawn VarsoChief of Police