This is an archived copy of the 2020-2021 catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit

Ohio Department of Higher Education

The Ohio Department of Higher Education is a Cabinet-level agency for the Governor of the State of Ohio that oversees higher education for the state.

The Ohio Board of Regents, a nine-member advisory board to the chancellor with two ex-officio representatives from the state legislature, was created in 1963 by the General Assembly. Members of the Board of Regents are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate.

Responsibilities of the board include developing an independent annual report on the Condition of Higher Education in the state of Ohio and issuing an annual performance review of the chancellor. The board is also responsible for advising the chancellor on issues of statewide importance affecting higher education.

Member   Term Expires
Chancellor Randy Gardner (ex-officio)
Sen. Peggy Lehner (ex-officio)

University  Administration

University Board of Trustees

University Board of Trustees Term Expires
Anita A. Hackstedde, Chair 2021
James E. "Ted" Roberts 2022
John R. Jakubek, Vice Chair 2023
Molly S. Seals 2024
Michael A. Peterson 2025
Capri S. Cafaro 2026
Charles T. George, Secretary 2027
Allen L. Ryan, Jr. 2028
Victoria M. Woods, Student Trustee 2021
Galena G. Lopuchovsky, Student Trustee 2022

Executive Level

Executive Level Position
James P. Tressel, MA President
Brien N. Smith, PhD Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Holly A. Jacobs, JD Vice President and General Counsel
Neal P. McNally, MPA Vice President for Finance and Business Operations
Eddie J. Howard Jr., EdD Vice President for Student Affairs
William M. Sherman, PhD Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness and Board Professional

Division of Academic Affairs

Division of Academic Affairs Position
Kevin E. Ball, PhD Associate Provost, Academic Programs and Planning
Jennifer Pintar, PhD Associate Provost, Academic Administration
Nathan P. Myers, PhD Associate Provost, International Programs
Carol Lynnett Bennett, MA Assistant Provost, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Charles L. Howell, PhD Dean, BCOE, Beeghly College of Liberal Arts, Social Sciences, and Education
Betty Jo Licata, PhD Dean, WCBA, Williamson College of Business Administration
Jeffery B. Allen, PhD Interim Dean, BCHHS, Bitonte College of Health and Human Services
Phyllis M. Paul, PhD Dean, CCCA, Cliffe College of Creative Arts
Sal A. Sanders, PhD Dean, College of Graduate Studies & Assistant Provost for Cyberlearning
Wim F. Steelant, PhD Dean, STEM, College of Science Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
Amy Cossentino, PhD Dean, Honors College
Ana M. Torres, BBA Co-Director, Maag Library
Christine Adams, MLS Co-Director, Maag Library
Hillary Fuhrman, ME Interim Director, Institute for Teaching and Learning
Severine Van slambrouck, PhD Director, Office of Research Services

Division of Enrollment Planning and Management

Division of Enrollment Planning and Management Position
Jeanne M. Herman, BSBA University Registar

Division of Finance and Administration

Division of Finance and Administration Position
Neal P. McNally, MPA Vice President for Finance and Business Operations
Katrena S. Davidson, CPA, MBA Controller
John P. Hyden, BCT Associate Vice President, Facilities Maintenance
Susan Ewing, BSBA Bursar
Terri Orlando, MBA Budget Officer, Academic Affairs
James A. Yukech, MSE Associate Vice President for Technology and Chief Information Officer

Division of Legal Affairs and Human Resources

Division of Legal Affairs and Human Resources Position
Holly A Jacobs, JD Vice President and General Counsel
Gregory Morgione, JD Associate General Counsel
Cynthia Kravitz, JD Associate Vice President of Human Resources / Chief Human Resources Officer
David Sipusic, JD Associate General Counsel, Research and EEO Compliance

Division of Multicultural Affairs

Division of Multicultural Affairs Position

Division of Student Experience

Division of Student Experience Position
Eddie J. Howard Jr., EdD Vice President for Student Affairs
Joy L. Polkabla Byers, MA Executive Director, Campus Recreation and Wellbeing
Nicole Kent-Strollo, EdD Director, Student Outreach and Support
John L. Young, BS Executive Director, Kilcawley Center
Erin E. Driscoll, BA Executive Director, Student Experience and Residence Life
Elaine Ruse, MBA Executive Director, Student Enrollment Services
Erin Hungerman, MS Associate Director, Residence Life & University Conduct Officer

Division of Student Success

Division of Student Success Position
Claire Berardini, PhD Associate Provost, Student Success
Amy Gordon, MA Director, Comprehensive Testing Center
Justin Edwards, EdD Director, Career & Academic Academic Advising
Ann Jaronski, PhD Director, Student Counseling Center
Leslie Page, MHE Director, First Year Student Services
Becky L. Varian, MSE Director, Center for Student Progress
Kenneth Pugh, MBA Director, Upward Bound/Scope

Division of University Relations

Division of University Relations Position
Shannon Tirone, MS Associate Vice President for University Relations
Ronald A. Cole, BA Director, University Communications
Jacquelyn M. LeViseur, BA Director, Alumni and Events
Ross L. Morrone, MS Director, University Marketing
Gary A. Sexton, MM Director, WYSU-FM
Shawn Varso, BSAS Chief of Police